Western Pacific Association of Law Libraries Annual Report 2017-2018

The major activity of the Western Pacific Association of Law Libraries (WestPac) is the chapter's annual meeting and conference. WestPac's 2017 annual meeting was held in Boise, Idaho from October 19-21. The meeting marked the fiftieth anniversary of the chapter. The keynote speaker, Dr. David Adler, addressed the U.S. Constitution and presidential power. Other programs focused on topics such as hiring and managing student workers, using gendered language in the library, digital preservation, making teachable moments out of viral news, hot topics in technical services, and the history of the Basques in Idaho. In addition to the traditional pre-conference reception, the conference featured a dinner celebration at a local Basque restaurant. Travel grants to attend the WestPac conference were awarded to Stacey Gordon and Lee Van Duzer. At the business meeting held during the conference, Laura Orr was unanimously approved as a life member of WestPac.

WestPac's 2018 annual meeting will take place in Anchorage, Alaska from September 27-29. This year's conference will feature a pre-conference workshop on ALLStAR Benchmarking. Three travel grants were awarded to attend the Anchorage meeting. Jill Sturgeon and LeighAnne Thompson received unconditional grants; Angela Wang received the DJ Morrison Grant for members working in electronic services.

The WestPac Executive Board members in the fall of 2017 were Hilary Hardcastle, President; Brian Huffman, Vice President; Nicholas Harrell, Secretary; Ning Han, Treasurer; and Kelly Reynolds, Past President. In February 2018, Nicholas Harrell resigned as Secretary. The Executive Board appointed Jill Sturgeon to serve the remainder of Nicholas's term. In May, the WestPac membership elected Jill Sturgeon for a two-year term as Secretary and elected Kerry Fitz-Gerald to serve as Vice-President/President-Elect beginning in October. Ning Han will continue to serve as Treasurer for another year.

Hilary Hardcastle President, 2017-2018